Paltsa-Kai Salama announces debut album, shares new single ‘Silent Moment’

Paltsa-Kai Salama’s debut album Night At The Beach, is released on the 28th October, via Soliti

Soliti is proud to announce the release of the debut album from Paltsa-Kai SalamaNight At the Beach on the 28th October 2016. We suggest you pay special heed to Paltsa’s album if you’re into Grateful Dead’s groovier vibes, Crosby, Stills and Nash’s effervescent harmonies or the sweetest moments of Gram Parsons. But the Black Lizard frontman doesn’t trade in mere nostalgia, Night At The Beach‘s eight tracks buzz with a contemporary sheen that brings us to the here and now.

Paltsa Promo 2

Following on from the two singles released this Spring, Ran Out Of Love and Summer Of Nothing, the third cut from Night At the Beach is aired in the form of Silent Moment. Paltsa-Kai explains his feelings of the track “Silent Moment takes the form of a classic love song, remembering the past while walking the city streets at night. There’s a saxophone player on the street corner, playing while the sun’s coming up” Silent Moment colors the sound palette of what we’ve heard of Night At The Beach so far whilst bringing a different mood.

“During the past few years I’ve written a bunch of songs that really didn’t seem to fit for Black Lizard. I’ve been thinking about doing this for a long time now. It seemed like a good time to make this solo record.” Paltsa-Kai comments. On what kind of record Night At The Beach is “I had an idea to make a late 1970s type-of country rock album. Neon signs, nightclubs, cocktails. Country rock just seems romantic to me in someway. There’s burning deserts, cowboy boots, a kind of roughness that I like. It’s simple and raw in a good way. Grateful Dead, CSN and Neil Young were huge influences on this record but I’m not sure how much you can hear them. I think if this were compared to Black Lizard,  this record is a lighter, more clear and less noisy album.”

Paltsa-Kai Salama: Night At The Beach (Soliti 055) Released: 28-10-2016


1. Ran Out Of Love
2. Summer Of Nothing
3. Silent Moment
4. Where The River Flows
5. Carry Away
6. Dying On A Sunday Morning
7. Hall Of The Dead
8. Cry No More

All songs written by Paltsa-Kai Salama. Arranged by the musicians on the record.
Paltsa-Kai Salama: Vocals, Guitars Sampo Seppänen: Bass, Percussion Iiro Tulkki: Keyboards Jussi Hurskainen: Saxophone.

Album cover: Jalmari Sarla

All photography: Rosa Kettumäki

Paltsa-Kai Salama at Soliti