Ocelot – Auringon puutarha

  • Catalogue No: Soliti 103
  • Artist: Ocelot
  • Title: Auringon puutarha
  • Format: Digital
  • Released: 25/11/2022


  • 1. Vanha Hollywood
  • 2. Daisy
  • 3. Santa Ana
  • 4. Kynsin hampain
  • 5. Sydänystävä
  • 6. Fire Season
  • 7. Horisontti
  • 8. Appelsiinipuiden varjossa
  • 9. Ikkunat auki


Emilia Pennanen: Vocals, piano, synth
Rasmus Pietilä: Bass, vocals, percussion
Victor von Hellens: Drums, percussion
Producer: Rasmus Pietilä
Mixing: Rasmus Pietilä
Mastering: Philip Granqvist


This album is about a fantasy, a constantly ongoing on-screen vacation where you walk the cursor through Google Maps or follow someone closely in their daily routine. You drift in and out of songs, films, books, social media accounts and old stories. And then one day you are actually there, or maybe you are just imagining it – it doesn’t really matter. Suddenly you can feel the place. The wind is colder than you thought it would be, the sun is burning. You drive along a familiar coast. The roads serpentine around the mountains, you are caught between the steep mountain wall on one side and the roaring sea on the other side. If you drive off the cliff and fall, you fall inside the car. You stop at a vista point, a Swedish couple says “Hi”, they seem friendly but you ignore them. They are wearing sand coloured gear from head to toe. They are on their way to Vegas, they tell you.

The horizon lays flat in the distance, the waves keep crashing into the cliffs underneath. You get back into your car and leave the Swedish couple and the view behind. You want to be more than a tourist, you want to live here, you want to be part of this place, you want to get casted. It is winter, the towns are quiet, in two hours you will be in LA.

These days it is often hard to tell where our own stories end, and where someone else’s begins. Through dreams, movies and screens our lives are constantly woven together into a reality that does not really exist. We see pictures from places that cannot be found anymore, we engage in love that is not ours and we experience moments that never really happened, but still moves us to the core.

For this album we wanted to make music that should be played in these dreams, movies and memories. It is an album about studying a distant place closely, about obsessing over a life that is out of reach, it is an album about watching and consuming a main character and confusing oneself with them.