Black Twig: Blaze On A Plain

  • Catalogue No: Soliti 049
  • Artist: Black Twig
  • Title: Blaze On A Plain
  • Format: Digital / Vinyl / Cassette
  • Released: 15.04.2016


  • 1. 1998
  • 2. The Swallows
  • 3. Never Gonna Learn
  • 4. Hyvinkää
  • 5. Oldschool Jungle
  • 6. Sweetheart
  • 7. Lauranne
  • 8. Gods
  • 9. Taivas
  • 10. Sunday TV

ALEKSI PELTONEN drums, percussions, drone loop on ”Hyvinkää” AKI POHJANKYRÖ guitars, lead & backing vocals, analog synth on ”Hyvinkää” KAARLO STAUFFER bass, guitars, percussions JANNE VAINIKAINEN guitars Everyone sings backing vocals on ”Never Gonna Learn” and ”Lauranne” Recorded in Roihupelto and Kamppi in Spring + Fall of 2015 by Black Twig. Mixed by Aki Pohjankyrö. ”Oldschool Jungle” recorded and mixed by Kaarlo Stauffer in Maununneva in 2012. That song eventually became ”Sunday TV”. Mastered by Markus Leminen. All compositions and arrangements by Black Twig. Lyrics by Aki Pohjankyrö. All art by Kaarlo Stauffer. Layout by Aki Pohjankyrö.

Blaze on a Plain,  is our third album. The title is a reference to the place where we rehearsed, arranged, and recorded these songs during the spring of 2015, near Roihupelto and Roihuvuori, Helsinki, Finland. Of course, it’s not a record about that place. Maybe it’s more about belonging in a more universal sense: belonging to a place, a time, a culture. And as always in popular music, it’s about falling in and out of love – in love with people, places, rights and wrongs. This time we worked on the album over a longer period of time instead of the usual quick visit to the studio. It’s self-recorded, self-produced, self-engineered. It’s played mostly live with minimal overdubs. The vocals are more upfront and the compositions a bit more straightforward than on our previous albums. It sounds like we sound now as a band. We’ve always been quite democratic but this time it’s even more a collaborative record, with contributions from all band members.”